top of page

Bleux Stockings Vol 1: Theresa Davis


We are delighted to reprint Theresa Davis' piece from our January show.

Comfort

twelve years ago,

my teeth remembered their purpose

bit down on the locks I crafted myself

freed me from reluctant fashions

the shape of a body they never knew

the way they hung in there

in that closet like

questions

waiting to be acknowledged

waiting to be answered by me

all allegation and judgement

questions

like “why those shoes, Theresa?”

they never held the full of you

all that awkward stumbling in those

uncomfortable shoes

covering the tracks you are supposed to be making

heels that while, for you, are appreciated on others

do not fit your body no matter

how much you try to force them

not when your windshield wiper of a mind

vacillates between feme and butch

while acknowledging neither

feels like pedestal

feels like compensating

for what you want

while pretending you want what you have

fallen arches make limping to your future

a hell of a lot less sexy

and because you got them cheap

those shoes seem to amplify your regret

I could hear all the questions

all the judgments

every single one

not all of them about my wardrobe

so I kept the closet door closed

locked

a safe of secrets

there is comfort in closet doors

closed easily

with minimum damage

from all the wagging tongues

that might call me what I am

and still manage to bruise my heart

so

I became camouflage

because if they can’t name me

they become confused in the judging

it’s like buying off the rack

the clothes may not fit well

but they hide all the things you want hidden

there is a comfort in buying off the rack

but there is great discomfort in the knowledge

that you are teaching your daughters

how not to live in their own skin

so

I dismantled the closet

took my sorrows to goodwill

sold my misgivings

and cowardice to the highest bidder

bought the boots that had been tickling my eyes for years

I kept my flowy shirts

because in them I can chart my movements

see the semaphore of me signaling to the islands I am attracted to

and flowy shirts

are comfortable as fuck

in case you didn’t know

then I stepped back from my would be destruction

smiled at my good work

caught my own reflection in a mirror

did not recognize the face the body

and the slow realization that

twice I had become a flesh and bone closet

not, holding clothes I will never wear

but stuffing the feelings I did not want to feel

over three hundred pounds of them

I was a hoarded of sadness filling all

the space in me with empty

another example of teaching my children the wrong things

seems, I confused complacency for comfort

there is an ironica comfort in this metaphor

but

first closets first

my reasons for leaving were many

I was unhappy

I was married to a man I loved

but not in love with

and when he

the now wasband

tried to explain

that is was my job as the wife

to remind him

that the last time we had sex

my son was conceived

and four years later

it is my job to remind him

that we haven’t had sex for four years

and I’m kind of pissed because I love sex

and I was so drowned in sad I hadn’t noticed for four years

four years

I was re-virginized

but

The most important reason why I left

I was raising three children

two of them are girls

and living a lie teaching them it was the truth

oh

and well that whole

you know

gay thing

I asked for the divorce

took my kids moved to a house too small for our stuff

but every room in the house owned a closet with no door

and after three moths of being happy

I found myself 150 lbs lighter

exorcised the ghosts of grief and regret

knowing full well some ghosts hang around

this is why I press pen to paper

why I push my own boundaries

I got bold

I asked out a woman who caught my fancy

who reminded my body what it felt like

when lust comes wanting

reclaimed most of my four years

in a spring to summer affair

the weather was stupid nice

since I excavated myself

every house I have lived in from then to now

owned closets with no doors

my two beautiful grown girls

and that boy that barely got through

we all learned together

learning how to live in our own skin

each one of my children have a name for me

my oldest says I was her first Condo

my middle girl thinks me mansion

my son, he sometimes even at fifteen years

will place his palm to my stomach and whisper home

I know it’s more than the gush of pride that

I embarrassingly pour all over them

more than the unconditional love I color them with

I believe it is because I have learned not to close myself away

and they have learned through me somehow

that there is comfort in authenticity

and that there is no place,

no fucking place

like home

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page