top of page

Bleux Stockings Vol. 1: Reay Kaplan Maxwell


We are delighted to reprint Reay Kaplan Maxwell's piece from our January show.

My father was a poet. He was also the least comforting person I’ve ever known. Or, rather, the person who, after any sort of dealings, sent me running for comfort in the opposite direction. Every time.

The house I grew up in was my refuge. My sanctuary. My cocoon. An authentic Old English Tudor in the heart of suburbia, yet cloistered away on a private gravel road, walking distance from one of the oldest train stations in America. My house stood on a property line between the past and the future, between child and grown. Now, years since it’s been sold, I still dream of it. It still talks to me. Still comforts. I owe it some words, too.

I am not a poet. At least, I’ve never really tried to be in any meaningful way. The following is about as free form as poetry can be, I would guess. For those who really know poetry and what constitutes a poem, forgive me. This is my poetry. This is my truth.

Love songs to my home.

DECEMBER MAIL

Dear Santa,

I am 8. I know you’re getting pretty busy.

I’m so glad we have a fireplace, or I guess you wouldn’t come.

That must be how you can get to every house.

If there’s no chimney, you don’t have to stop.

Right?

Mummy grew up in an apartment and you went there.

Huh.

Granny says she heard the reindeer pawing the roof when she was little.

That’s how I know you’re real.

HIDEY HOLE

Dogs run free, here. Kids do too.

From dawn till dusk, a bestial stew.

Dappled light on blossoms white.

Down by the creek, I wallow and wait,

For fairies and giants I create

The hill above, the legend claims

Is final rest for lost remains

The rails by the old station

Brings them from and takes them to

Where would those tracks take me?

Oh! The adventures I wrought, the stories I made!

The questions asked, the nothings of young love gasped

We laughed, we cried, we screamed

We died.

These rafters raised me.

My home cradles other children now,

My hidey hole remains mine, waiting.

FATHER

The car idles to a stop.

Goodbye, he says, until next week.

Bye, I call, with scarcely a glance behind.

Running towards my keep, around the corner

He’s too sick to drive to my door.

Gray slate beacons lead me

To refuge.

Safe again.

SILENCE

Dark December. radiator perched, I check the lone lamp

Snow blankets the lawn, the hill, Alex’s VW bus.

There! Flakes fall in the night, quiet treachery coming down.

Boots creak on new ground.

Crystalline silence deafens.

Every night breath pauses

Rhododendron bushes droop under

winter weight.

Tomorrow, the struggle continues.

For now, the quiet is enough.

THE CHOICE

Crisp apple air

Crack! Swish!

Leaf explosions

Propel my steps

Up Sylvan, down Hillside,

Along the Indian Trail

Left? Right?

One way to mystical goblin paths

One way to the store

I choose my own adventure from my stoop

Maybe, it chooses me

Glen Cross to the tracks

Gutted station windows watch with vacant eyes

Trains passing through

Merely hesitate in rush hour trades

Overgrowth and gravel undermine most machine born automation

The winged and legged are what live here

GENERATION

I walk through rooms that raised me.

Tiny teeth marks on wooden windowsills.

Are mine.

French Door glass bears transparent ghosts from ancient holiday cards.

Our family’s traditions.

Stucco walls with faint pencil lines marking my growth.

I was small here. Now, I am large.

The being inside me will never know these planks and beams.

The sinews and veins of architecture which cradled and bolstered,

Cajoled and nourished.

A kiss and wave are all I leave behind. I can never go home again.

NIGHT TERROR

Flames lick the berries from my walls

The beams in the kitchen bend.

Grab what you can, get out!

No time for goodbyes.

What will I bring?

My home! My home! You are all I have!

Let me be consumed with you, for my foundation is yours.

Your history runs deeper than mine, but mine is encased in your walls

Wafts through your rafters

Rages in your furnace, winds through your wires

Inextricably bound, we’ll extinguish together.

ORIGIN STORY

1927, the year of your birth.

Who did you hold in your infancy?

I know there were those who came before

As those who will come after

But you are mine, have always been, will always be

The heart we drew in white paint on the wall behind the garage.

Wooden floor planks remember feet, claws and wheels

The broken path, the jammed window latch

The raccoon hole in the eaves

I am marked as you are

Will you remember me as new memories are made?

FROM 5 SYLVAN

Small child, babe in arms

My walls cradle you, the branches of my trees will paint pictures for you in the sky

Small child, running now,

Tiny fingers tickle my sides

My floor planks creak and peel with your games

The back garden, behind where I sit, holds magic and wondrous creatures

Along the hill, in the dogwood limbs

Swinging in the fairy circle beneath the mighty oak

Small child, not so small

Let me be your refuge

As you navigate the perilous waters of youth

Venture forth and make your mistakes

My peeling linoleum and swelled wood will be here

Grown woman, no longer small

It’s time for you to go

I’ve raised you in my mortar

I will never tell your secrets

Another small child needs me now

My foundation will live in you

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page